Home   Sport   Article

Wet track puts drivers in spin

By SPP Reporter

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

The next race meeting is on June 26.

ICC Gearbox – 1 Michael Christie (Banff), 2 Jack Sutherland (Brora), 3 Roddy Jack (Tore).

Senior Rotax – 1 Kevin Ross (Inverness), 2 Gordon Hawton (Aberdeen), 3 Darren Patrick (Turriff).

Junior Rotax – 1 Lewis McNab (Star), 2 Jake Anderson (Fortrose), 3 Rory MacLennan (Tore).

Jun.Minimax – 1 Neil MacLennan (Tore), 2 Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh), 3 Chloe Scott (Aberdeen).

Honda Cadet – 1 Michael MacPherson (Tore), 2 Owen Fraser (Maryburgh), 3 Lee Ross (Rogart).

Final race results:

Sutherland started the final from pole to lead at the first corner from Christie. Robbie Gray (Evanton) collided with Roddy Jack (Tore) and Mackay with all three spinning but getting going straight away. At the end of lap one it was Sutherland who led from Christie, Jason Massie (Inverness), Ian Duncan (Banff), Jack and Gray. On lap two Duncan retired with mechanical problems also afflicting Mackay on lap five. In lap four Christie took the lead from Sutherland at spoon corner. Lap seven and this time Jack went to pass Massie at beach corner, the pair making contact with Massie spinning off, but rejoining the track. Christie then went on to take the win by 4.7 seconds and fastest race lap from Sutherland in second place. Third went to Jack, Gray was in fourth, Massie was fifth and MacKay was sixth.

In the gearbox class Kyle MacKay (Lairg) won heat one with fastest lap in heat two, Jack Sutherland (Brora) won heat two, Michael Christie took fastest lap in heat one.

Ross started the final from pole and led the field at the start. However on lap one Forbes was working his way through the field when he made contact with Hawton, and Forbes spun out to retire from the race. So at the end of lap one Ross led from Hawton, Darren Patrick (Turriff), John Parker (Ardersier), Stuart Wyness (Inverurie) and Hugh Munro (Tain). Few passing moves were made in this class as Ross was never headed to take the chequered flag and win by 3.01 seconds and also fastest race lap. Second place went to Hawton, Patrick was third, Wyness was fourth, Gavin Wilson (Tain) fifth and Parker in sixth place.

In Senior Rotax, Kevin Ross (Inverness) won heat one and Ryan Forbes (Castletown) won heat two, Gordon Hawton (Aberdeen) took fastest lap in both heats.

For the final MacLennan started from pole position and led at the end of lap one from Lewis McNab (Star) and Jake Anderson (Fortrose). Maclennan was leading comfortably when on lap four a rear hub came loose and the wheel departed from his kart, spinning him out into retirement. McNab took the win by 19.08 seconds from Anderson in second place. Third place went to MacLennan along with fastest race lap.

In Junior Rotax, Rory MacLennan (Tore) won both heats plus fastest lap in both heats.

Maclennan started the final from pole position and led away with three drivers spinning off on the first lap. At the end of lap one Maclennan led from Liam Black (Beauly), Chloe Scott (Aberdeen), Paul Macdonald (Evanton), Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh) and Daniel Roll (Anstruther). Simpson passed MacDonald for fourth on lap two, the following lap he was up to third, passing Scott. Lap eight and Black spun out of second place, then on the last lap MacDonald stopped on the track with mechanical problems from fourth place. At the flag MacLennan took the win by 7.1 seconds from Simpson in second place, with Scott in third place. Black was in fourth place along with fastest race lap from Aiden MacLean (Dingwall) in fifth and Roll in sixth place. Best Novice went to Grant Tulloch (Granton).

In the Minimax class Neil Maclennan (Tore) won both heats plus fastest laps.

MacPherson started the final from pole position and led away at the green light. At the end of lap one MacPherson led Matthew MacKenzie (Inverness), James Thomson (Culbokie), Owen Fraser (Maryburgh), Lee Ross (Rogart) and Hannah Emerson (Muir of Ord). All race long MacPherson led in total command from Mackenzie in second place, then on lap 13 MacKenzie spun out of a comfortable second place, letting Fraser inherit the place. Virtually all the competitors spun off at some time during the race, except MacPherson who took a commanding win by 44 seconds along with fastest race lap from Fraser in second place and Ross in third. MacKenzie finished fourth, Emerson fifth and Thompson sixth. Best novice went to Fraser in second place.

In the Honda Cadet class Michael MacPherson (Tore) won both heats including fastest laps.

WET WEATHER greeted the drivers for the third round of the Club Championship at the North of Scotland Kart Club, Littleferry Race Circuit, Golspie, on Sunday 29 May. Practice was followed by two heats 10 laps) and a final (15 laps).

Karting winners at Littleferry
Karting winners at Littleferry

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More