Home   Sport   Article

Rogart and Loch Fleet dominate curling

By SPP Reporter

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Sutherland Province league
Sutherland Province league

Loch Fleet and Rogart clubs continue to dominate the Sutherland Province curling league, both clubs remaining unbeaten after four games.

Reigning league champion, the North Highland Curling Trust’s first skip, Hugh Mackay, was unable to put a dent in Loch Fleet’s march to the title on Monday night, going under by six shots, and former champion Coreen MacRae and her Alness rink fared little better against Rogart’s Nigel Murray.

Indeed Alness could not have got away to a worse start – loss of the first end and punished three shots for late arrival in the conclusive 9-2 result against them.

Just one more league game remains to be played before the turn of the year but we will have to wait until February 6th 2012 before the crunch fixture between the two clubs.

Meanwhile Ian Mackay (Dornoch) beat his clubmate Alan Munro in charge of the Ross Sutherland Young Farmers 10-5; Bill Watson still has not got his Brora curlers up to scratch, beaten in round four 7-2 by Locheye’s Alan MacKenzie; but Richard MacKenzie kept up the spirits of the NHCT second outfit when he comfortably beat his Locheye club mate Tony Watson by six shots.

In the preliminary round of the knock-out competition Hugh Mackay’s NHCT rink are still in the competition after receiving a bye from Loch Fleet and they will now meet Rogart who all but ended Brora’s season with a 10-4 win.

The other three ties in the quarter finals on Tuesday, November 29th are: Ross Sutherland Young Farmers v Locheye 2. Dornoch v NHCT 2. and Locheye 1 v Alness.

* The four Sutherland curlers who represented the Province in the Royal Club’s National Province Championships at the Greenacres Ice Rink last weekend were Hugh Mackay, Richard Mackenzie, Nigel Murray and Allan MacLennan.

They had four games in their section but won only one, against Peebles-shire, losing to Ireland, Wales and the Borders.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More