Home   News   Article

Brora Rangers are spot on to win Highland League Cup after penalties

By Will Clark

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Brora Rangers win the Highland League Cup.
Brora Rangers win the Highland League Cup.

Highland League Cup final

Brora Rangers 1

Fraserburgh 1

(Brora Rangers win 5-4 on penalties)

Scorers - Brora: Kelly (54) Fraserburgh: Barbour (29)

BRORA Rangers have won the Highland League Cup after defeating Fraserburgh in a penalty shoot-out in the final in Inverur

Five perfect penalties from Brora along with goalkeeper Joe Malin saving Sean Butcher’s effort meant the trophy was heading to Dudgeon Park for the second time in three years.

But Brora had to come from behind when Fraserburgh took the lead after 29 minutes.

Aiden Sopel’s pass found Scott Barbour, who from 25 yards out fired a thunderous effort past Malin into the bottom right corner.

But Brora Rangers fought back and equalised 12 minutes into the second half when Paul Brindle’s pass found Tom Kelly who from 10-yards out scored.

Neither team were able to take the lead in normal time or extra time and the game went to a shoot-out.

After Dale Gillespie scored Brora Rangers’ first penalty, Malin stopped Butcher’s spot-kick to give them the advantage.

Martin Maclean, Tony Dingwall, Jordan Macrae and Martin Nicolson all scored penalties to give Brora Rangers the trophy.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More