Home   Sport   Article

Young rider breaks record as he powers up hill climb

By SPP Reporter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

From left, Alasdair Munro, Lewis Macfarlane, Finn Crockett, Kenny Riddle and Natalie Munro
From left, Alasdair Munro, Lewis Macfarlane, Finn Crockett, Kenny Riddle and Natalie Munro

EAST Sutherland Wheelers annual race weekend again attracted riders from across Scotland.

Persistent rain didn’t dampen the spirits of those tackling the Dunrobin 10-mile time trial and the Rogart Hill climb.

The morning time trial was won by Spokes Racing Team junior rider Finn Crockett in a time of 23 mins 26 secs, 12 seconds ahead of RT23’s Danny Hedley.

East Sutherland Wheelers rider Fiona Paton (Golspie) won the women’s race while RT23 clubmates Alasdair Munro and Kyle Cartnell won the junior and youth categories respectively.

The afternoon event was an individually timed hill climb from Rovie to Knockarthur via Morness and Langwell, a distance of some 5.5 miles with around 800ft of climbing.

The course record set last year by Caithness rider Andrew Macleod was broken by junior rider Alastair Munro of RT23 in 17 mins and 19 secs. His team mate, Danny Hedley, took the senior prize.

On Sunday, the club hosted the Scottish Cycling North Crit Championship at Golspie’s Littleferry Karting circuit. Conditions were ideal and there was a full day of racing with children’s races in the morning.

All races were fiercely contested with a sprint finish in the main race following 41 laps of the circuit.

Finn Crocket from Spokes Racing Team took the win over fellow junior Lewis Macfarlane and his team mate Kenny Riddle.

Moray Firth’s Natalie Munro won the women’s race and Gary Macdonald of Hope Factory Racing the earlier fourth category riders’ race.

The prizes were presented by Golspie’s international cyclist Iain Paton.


10TT – Senior Male: 1 Finn Crocket, Spokes Racing Team; 2 Danny Hedley, RT23; 3 Alaster Munro, RT23. Female: 1 Fiona Paton, East Sutherland Wheelers; 2 Megan Riach, Moray Firth Cycling Club; 3 Amanda Wagstaffe, East Sutherland Wheelers. Youth/junior: Kyle Cartmel RT 23. Handicap: Kieran Robbins, East Sutherland Wheelers. Vet standard: Alasdair Washington, Caithness Cycling Club.

Hill Climb – Junior, Alasdair Munro, RT23. Senior, Danny Hedley, RT23. Female, Fiona Paton, East Sutherland Wheelers.

SC North Crit Championships 2017 – Senior: 1 Finn Crockett, Spokes Racing Team; 2 Lewis Macfarlane, Moray Firth Cycling Club 3 Kenny Riddle, Moray Firth Cycling Club. Female: Natalie Munro, Moray Firth Cycling Club.

Junior: 1 Lewis Macfarlane, Moray Firth Cycling Club; 2 Alasdair Munro, RT23.

Category 4 race – 1 Gary Macdonald, Hope Factory Racing; 2 Scott Davidson, Moray Firth Cycling Club; 3 Alan Smith, Ythan Cycling Club; Junior: Callum Hilton, Moray Firth Cycling Club.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More