Published: 28/08/2017 16:15 - Updated: 28/08/2017 16:19

Six candidates stand in Tain by-election


The Tain by-election will take place on September 28
The Tain by-election will take place on September 28


Six candidates are standing for election to the Tain and Easter Ross ward of the Highland Council following the resignation of Cllr Jamie Stone, who is now an MP. 

The candidates are: 

• Harry Christian - Scottish Libertarian Party

• Gerald Holdsworth - Independent

• Stan Peace - Scottish National Party (SNP)

• Alasdair Rhind - Independent

• Eva Short - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

• William Sinclair - Scottish Liberal Democrats 

The by-election is being held after Cllr Stone stepped down to take up a seat in Westminster following the UK parliamentary elections held earlier this year. He was one of three councillors representing Tain and Easter Ross. The other two members are Derek Louden (SNP) and Fiona Robertson (Independent). 

Polling will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 28 September at the following polling stations: Duthac Centre, Tain (2 stations); Inver Village Hall; Carnegie Hall, Portmahomack; Fearn Abbey Church Hall; Mercat Centre, Munro Crescent, Milton; Nigg Village Hall and Seaboard Memorial Hall, Balintore. 

The count will take place at the Duthac Centre, Tain, on the following day.

Those intending to vote are reminded that the single transferable vote system is being used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo